ellas

"

Premiere16.08.2024, tanzhaus ahrbergviertel, Hanover
artistic direction / choreographyMónica García Vicente
DancersLaura García Aguilera, Levente Balint;
on 22.11.2024: Camilla Matteucci, Levente Balint

cdc-DancersRama Al Aisami, Jacqueline Grothey, Lena Steinhuber, Ulrike Zeuner
Composition & Performance artistMelissa Kind
dramaturgy Christina Rohwetter
Stage design / Light DesignKristina Schmidt
CostumeLuzie Nehls-Neuhaus
Assistant directorTinka Bitzel
production management / Press, Public relationsYara Eid
Social Media / VideoLaura Nicole Viganó
GraphicMaïté Müller
photography Peter Hoffmann-Schoenborn
sponsored byLANDESHAUPTSTADT HANNOVER KULTURBÜRO, Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur, STIFTUNG NIEDERSACHSEN

Inspired by “Bernarda Alba’s House. Tragedy of the Women in the Villages of Spain” by the Andalusian author Federico García Lorca, “ELLAS” visualises the mechanisms of objectification & exploitation of the female body and shows ways of its reappropriation & liberation through dance. The tanzhaus ahrbergviertel becomes a living, changeable element of the performance. The three performers initiate actions of resistance in this closed social space using their bodies, movements, sounds and voices. The choreography aims to give the body back its ability to be touched and to touch, to be moved and to move. “ELLAS” wants to explore this liberating potential of dance in order to create an open, inclusive space that respects the diversity of human identities and enables relationality.

Audience talks & opening acts!

In addition to the performances, there will be audience talks after the premiere and derniere as well as opening acts before the September and October performances:

Audience talk with choreographer and ensemble

On 16 August (premiere) and 22 November 2024 (dernière), the mónica garcía vicente DANCE PROJECT invites all audience members and interested parties to talk about the piece in a follow-up discussion with Mónica García Vicente and her ensemble. Duration approx. 30 min.

Opening act by CDC dancers

What is an Opening Act?
Artists performing before the main act.

The idea for the opening act came about through Mónica García Vicente’s Connection Dance Center (CDC). Four dancers from the CDC 2024 have the opportunity to create their owninterpretation of the choreographic process of “ELLAS” to the stage.

What is the CDC?
The CDC is an annual project lasting several months in which young dancers have the opportunity to gain professional experience in the world of dance under the watchful eye of choreographer Mónica García Vicente.

Cast: Rama Al Aisami, Jacqueline Grothey, Lena Steinhuber, Ulrike Zeuner

6:30 pm Opening act by CDC dancers
7:00 pm Break
7:30 pm Main act: ELLAS

ellas

"

Premiere16.08.2024, tanzhaus ahrbergviertel, Hannover
Künstlerische Leitung / ChoreographieMónica García Vicente
Tänzer*innenLaura García Aguilera, Levente Balint;
am 22.11.2024: Camilla Matteucci, Levente Balint

cdc-TänzerinnenRama Al Aisami, Jacqueline Grothey, Lena Steinhuber, Ulrike Zeuner
Komposition & PerformancekünstlerinMelissa Kind
DramaturgieChristina Rohwetter
Bühnenbild / Licht-DesignKristina Schmidt
KostümLuzie Nehls-Neuhaus
RegieassistenzTinka Bitzel
Produktionsleitung / Presse, ÖffentlichkeitsarbeitYara Eid
Social Media / VideoLaura Nicole Viganó
GraphikMaïté Müller
FotosPeter Hoffmann-Schoenborn
gefördert durchLANDESHAUPTSTADT HANNOVER KULTURBÜRO, Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur, STIFTUNG NIEDERSACHSEN

   Inspiriert von „Bernarda Albas Haus. Tragödie von den Frauen in den Dörfern Spaniens“ des andalusischen Autors Federico García Lorca macht „ELLAS“ die Mechanismen der Objektivierung & Ausbeutung des weiblichen Körpers sichtbar und zeigt Wege seiner Wiederaneignung & Befreiung durch den Tanz. Das tanzhaus ahrbergviertel wird dabei zu einem lebendigen, wandelbaren Element der Performance. Die drei Performer*innen initiieren in diesem geschlossenen sozialen Raum mittels ihrer Körper, Bewegungen, Sounds & Stimmen Aktionen des Widerstands. Die Choreographie zielt darauf, dem Körper sein Vermögen zurückzugeben, berührt zu werden und zu berühren, bewegt zu werden und zu bewegen. Dieses Befreiungsspotential des Tanzes will „ELLAS“ ausloten, um einen offenen inklusiven Raum zu schaffen, der die Vielfalt menschlicher Identitäten respektiert und Bezogenheit ermöglicht.

Publikumsgespräche & Opening Acts!

Neben den Vorstellungen wird es Publikumsgespräche im Anschluss an die Premiere und Dernière sowie Opening Acts vor den September- und Oktobervorstellungen geben:

Publikumsgespräch mit Choreographin und Ensemble

Am 16. August (Premiere) und 22. November 2024 (Dernière) lädt das mónica garcía vicente DANCE PROJECT alle Zuschauer*innen und Interessierte in einem Nachgespräch mit Mónica García Vicente und ihrem Ensemble ein, über das Stück zu sprechen. Dauer ca. 30 Min.

Opening Act by CDC dancers 

Was ist ein Opening Act?
Künstler*innen, die vor dem Haupt-Act auftreten.

Die Idee zum Opening Act ist durch das Connection Dance Center (CDC) von Mónica García Vicente entstanden. Vier Tänzerinnen aus dem CDC 2024 haben die Möglichkeit, ihre eigene Interpretation des choreografischen Prozesses von „ELLAS“ auf die Bühne zu bringen.

Was ist das CDC?
Das CDC ist ein jährlich stattfindendes mehrmonatiges Projekt, in dem Nachwuchs-Tänzer*innen die Chance haben, professionelle Erfahrungen in der Tanzwelt unter dem Blick der Choreographin Mónica García Vicente zu sammeln.

Besetzung: Rama Al Aisami, Jacqueline Grothey, Lena Steinhuber, Ulrike Zeuner

18:30 Uhr  Opening Act by CDC dancers
19:00 Uhr  Pause
19:30 Uhr  Haupt-Act: ELLAS